How much do I need?

This is one of the most common questions asked in the shop:  How much do I need?

Unless you are using a printed, complete pattern, it is difficult to know how much fabric to purchase for this block pattern or that quilt back.  I came across this fabric calculator and believe it is one of the best I’ve seen. 

You can calculate fabric for individual cuts of different shapes, for quilt backs or (especially handy) for borders.  It even has pictures of how to lay out the fabric  for the yardage given.

I had fun just entering dimensions and having it spit out numbers for me.  Give it a try!

Thank you  vyra.net for your work putting this calculator together and sharing it with us math challenged quilters.

Leave a Reply

