Thanksgiving Thoughts

At Thanksgiving I usually reflect on the past year and all that I have to be thankful for.  This year I am especially thankful that I took the GIANT STEP and opened up My Heritage Fabrics.  It has brought me much joy and much to be thankful for.  I have met so many wonderful people.  I hear their stories every day, their generosity astounds me, they are always inspiring me.  I am grateful to all those who have supported and encouraged me during this past year, words cannot express what you mean to me.
 
It has been an exciting, stressful, fulfilling and learning year.  Thank you to my loyal customers who have who have made it possible for me to stay open. 
 
Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
Here’s a little gift to you.  My favorite way to eat pumpkin:
Pumpkin Squares
 
1 Box yellow cakemix
1 Stick Margarine (melted)
4 eggs
1 Lg. can pumpkin (can use the one with spices, if you do, eliminate the spices below)
1/2 C light brown sugar
1/2 C milk
1/4 C sugar
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp cloves
pinch of salt
 
Remove 1 cup of cake mix and set aside.  To remaining mix add melted margarine and one egg (whipped).  Mix well with fork.  Spread in the bottom of 9 x 12  cake pan. 
 
Mix all remaining ingredients together.  pumpkin, milk, sugar, eggs and spices.  Pour over the cake mix.
 
Make topping:  1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 stick cold margarine and the one cup of cake mix.  Crumble together and sprinkle over top of pumpkin mix.
 
Bake at 350 degrees for 50-55 min.  Cut into squares to serve.
Thank you again, Marlene.
**********

For fabric and the freedom to sew. 

For the chance to make things for the people I know. 

 For a little peace and space and time.  For a craft to soothe my mind. 

For a needle and for thread,  Nearly as much as my daily bread. 

For these things I give thanks.

Leave a Reply

